Skip to main content


ICJ Council members act as special advisors to the ICJ Canada Board, and engage in initiatives to support our work. Our Council currently consists of the following members:

Raj Anand - Partner, WeirFoulds LLP, Toronto, ON

James Arnett, Q.C. - Retired CEO, Molson Inc., Toronto, ON

Erica Bach - Project Complaint Mechanism (PCM) Officer, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, London, UK

John A. Campion - Partner, Fasken Martineau, Toronto, ON

Dr. Fernand de Varennes - Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Moncton, Moncton, NB

Adam Dodek - Professor, University of Ottawa Faculty of Law, Ottawa ON

Marlys A. Edwardh, C.M. - Partner, Goldblatt Partners LLP, Toronto, ON

Hon. Catherine A. Fraser - Chief Justice of the Alberta Court of Appeal, Edmonton, AB

Paul D.K. Fraser, Q.C. - British Columbia Conflict of Interest Commissioner, Victoria, BC

Jacques Frémont - President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON

Ritu Gambhir - Member, Refugee Appeal Division, Immigration and Refugee Board, Toronto, Canada

April Grosse - Partner, Bennett Jones LLP, Calgary, Alberta

Elise Groulx Diggs - International Human Rights Lawyer - Principal, BI for Business Integrity & Partners, Washington, DC, USA | Associate Tenant Doughty Street Chambers, London, UK

Pacifique Manirakiza - Professor, University of Ottawa Faculty of Law, Ottawa, ON

David Matas – International human rights, immigration, and refugee lawyer, Winnipeg, MB

Dr. Moira L. McConnell - Professor Emerita (Law), Honorary Fellow, Marine & Environmental Law Institute, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS

Peter Tinsley - International legal consultant; Vice Chairperson, Institute for Justice Sector Development, Prince Edward County, ON

John D. Waddell, Q.C. - Partner, Waddell Raponi LLP, Victoria BC

Daphne Pierre - Counsel of the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada 

Neil McCormick - Partner in Gowling WLG's Ottawa office, practising in the Business Law Group

Guy Régimbald - Partner, Gowling WLG